Palpable intelligence.

Corporate identity for Sick.

"

Sick AG is among the world’s leading manufacturers of sensors and sensor system for industrial applications. Continuous growth and the evolution from Black Forest-based innovator to global player meant Sick had to review its philosophy. Since the visual presentation had already been modernised with two annual reports, now the task was to develop a mission statement that corresponds to the new self-image of the company – and also: accompanies growth and success of the brand in a dynamic way.

A mission statement defines the ethical and strategic guard rails of a company. It formulates goals and value, provides direction and sense. The prerequisite for a functioning mission statement is the honesty through which it emerges. It requires critical self-reflection, which gets to the heart of the corporate identity with increasing density.

We supervised the development of a new mission statement in an intensive process. The analysis of existing corporate statements led to the definition of core values and the formulation of the mission statement. In order to widely protect what had been developed, it was sent on a test track through the company and discussed with international management personnel. In order to bundle the mission statement into a central message, we developed a concise claim: “Sensor Intelligence” – a strong brand promise externally, as well as duty and motivation internally.

We compiled a special package of measures to implement the mission statement: the key medium was a bilingual brochure that explained the mission statement and claim. It is deliberately designed to be brief – no image diverts from the content. Employees received a personal copy upon the launch of the mission statement. Text banners and presentation boards in the foyer of the head office gave the mission statement conspicuous presence and invited discussion.

The new claim also came into action quickly: as a supplement to the company logo in all communication – from the website and brochures to advertisements. The look and content of image advertisements, in particular, is heavily influenced by the mission statement.

A feel for the brand.

Sick AG is growing continuously. Since the joint brand relaunch, the number of employees has more than doubled. Of course, that’s not simply due to our work. But Schindler Parent has made a significant contribution nevertheless. Ultimately the claim is still used after more than a decade. As we indeed had the right feel for the brand.

 

More information is available from:

Michael Meier

Managing Partner
michael.meier (at) schindlerparent.de

Spürbar intelligent.

Corporate Identity für Sick.

"

Die Sick AG zählt weltweit zu den führenden Herstellern von Sensoren und Sensorsystemen für industrielle Anwendungen. Kontinuierliches Wachstum und der Wandel vom Schwarzwälder Erfinder zum Global Player machten es für Sick notwendig, seine Philosophie auf den Prüfstand zu stellen. Nachdem der visuelle Auftritt mit zwei Geschäftsberichten bereits modernisiert worden war, ging es darum, ein Leitbild zu erarbeiten, das dem neuen Selbstverständnis des Unternehmens gerecht wird – und mehr noch: Wachstum und Erfolg der Marke dynamisch begleitet.

Ein Leitbild setzt die ethischen und strategischen Leitplanken eines Unternehmens. Es formuliert Ziele und Werte, gibt Orientierung und Sinn. Voraussetzung für ein funktionierendes Leitbild ist die Ehrlichkeit, mit der es entsteht. Es geht um kritische Selbstreflexion, die in immer höherer Verdichtung die Identität des Unternehmens auf den Punkt bringt.

In einem intensiven Prozess moderierten wir die Entwicklung eines neuen Leitbildes. Der Analyse vorhandener Unternehmensstatements folgte die Definition der Kernwerte und die Formulierung des Leitbilds. Um das Erarbeitete breit abzusichern, wurde es quer durch das Unternehmen auf eine Rüttelstrecke geschickt und mit internationalen Führungskräften diskutiert. Um das Leitbild in einer zentralen Botschaft zu bündeln, entwickelten wir einen prägnanten Claim: „Sensor Intelligence“ – ein starkes Versprechen der Marke nach außen und zugleich Verpflichtung und Motivation nach innen.

Zur Implementierung des Leitbildes schnürten wir ein spezielles Maßnahmenpaket: Zentrales Medium war eine zweisprachige Broschüre, die Leitbild und Claim ausführlich erläutert. Sie ist bewusst reduziert gestaltet – kein Bild lenkt von den Inhalten ab. Zur Präsentation des Leitbildes erhielten die Mitarbeiter ein persönliches Exemplar. Textfahnen und Präsentationstafeln im Foyer des Hauptsitzes verschafften dem Leitbild unübersehbare Präsenz und luden zur Diskussion ein.

Schnell kam auch der neue Claim zum Einsatz: als Zusatz zum Unternehmenszeichen in allen Kommunikationsmaßnahmen – von der Website über Broschüren bis hin zu Anzeigen. Besonders die Image-Anzeigen sind visuell und inhaltlich stark geprägt vom Leitbild.

Ein Gespür für die Marke.

Die Sick AG wächst immer mehr. Seit dem gemeinsamen Marken-Relaunch hat sich die Mitarbeiterzahl mehr als verdoppelt. Natürlich lag das nicht allein an unserer Arbeit. Aber einen gewissen Teil wird auch Schindler Parent dazu beigetragen haben. Schließlich wird der Claim auch nach über einem Jahrzehnt noch verwendet. Da hatten wir wohl den richtigen Sensor für die Marke.

 

Mehr Informationen gibt es von:

Michael Meier

Geschäftsführender Gesellschafter
michael.meier (at) schindlerparent.de