Sappi SPE-i Schindler Parent

Storytelling for easy access to abstract themes.

Sabee brings emotions to the development of the Sapp work culture.

"

With SPE&I, Sappi has created an internal training programme that should radically improve in-house work culture and optimise internal processes. SPE&i stands for ‘Sappi Performance Engine and I’. It’s about improving the work culture in order to motivate employees and exploit their potential to the full.

However, this programme was comprised more or less of just text with a few confusing charts.

Therefore, the biggest challenge for us was how to illustrate the highly abstract ideas and concepts in a way that was intelligible and transparent for all employees. For only in this way can everyone engage themselves with this programme in a willing and motivated manner. And that is essential for the success of such measures.

Storytelling was clearly the best option for us to bring Sappi’s employees closer to abstract and emotionless issues at SPE&I. Analogies in particular should help to create easier access to these issues. It also helps everyone to remember better what they have learned and they gain a sense of feeling for the new way of working.

Sabee presentation.

Sabee represents the Sappi employees. Bees are generally associated with characteristics such as diligence, endurance, community spirit, orderliness and dedication to the community. The bee helps Sappi’s employees with their development towards a new way of working and optimised processes. It experiences these same processes in the diagrams and is thus see as a popular figure.

The bee can be used repeatedly to remind staff in an unobtrusive manner of what they have learned. Posters, stickers and other measures ensure that Sabee is becoming a constant positive companion.

The combination of illustration and photography creates a strong effect, notwithstanding the everyday situations presented.

In short, Sabee makes the whole issue more intelligible, plausible, emotional and positive.

Sabee the role model

Sabee has been well received by management and all employees. In the first SPE&I workshops, participants even gave the bees in the various scenes their own names. Sabee is now a proper part of Sappi and all employees are on a journey towards a new work culture, and are optimising their processes.

For more information, please contact:

Michael Meier

Managing Partner
michael.meier (at) schindlerparent.de

Sappi SPE-i Schindler Parent

Storytelling für einen leichten Zugang zu abstrakten Themen.

Sabee bringt Emotionen in die Entwicklung der Arbeitskultur von Sappi.

"

Mit SPE&i hat Sappi ein internes Trainingsprogramm erstellt, welches tiefgreifend die eigene Arbeitskultur verbessern und die internen Prozesse optimieren soll. SPE&i steht für „Sappi Performance Engine and I“. Dabei geht es um eine Verbesserung der Arbeitskultur, um so die Mitarbeiter zu motivieren und ihr Potenzial voll auszuschöpfen.

Allerdings gestaltete sich dieses Programm mehr oder weniger nur aus Textwüsten mit ein paar verwirrenden Schaubildern.

Deshalb war für uns die große Herausforderung, die sehr abstrakten Ideen und Konzepte so darzustellen, dass sie für alle Mitarbeiter verständlich und nachvollziehbar sind. Denn nur so können sich alle freiwillig und motiviert auf dieses Programm einlassen. Und das ist entscheidend für den Erfolg solcher Maßnahmen.

Story Telling war für uns ganz klar die beste Möglichkeit, um Sappi’s Mitarbeitern die abstrakten und emotionslosen Themen von SPE&i näher zu bringen. Vor allem Analogien sollen helfen, einen leichteren Zugang zu den Themen zu bekommen.

Außerdem hilft es allen, sich besser an das Gelernte zu erinnern und sie bekommen auch ein Gefühl für die neue Arbeitsweise.

Auftritt Sabee.

Sabee stellt die Mitarbeiter von Sappi dar. Mit einer Biene werden allgemein Eigenschaften wie Fleiß, Ausdauer, Gemeinschaftssinn, Ordnungsliebe und Engagement für die Allgemeinheit assoziiert. Die Biene begleitet Sappis Mitarbeiter auf ihrer Entwicklung hin zur neuen Arbeitsweise und optimierten Prozessen. In Schaubildern durchlebt sie dieselben Prozesse und ist dabei Sympathieträger.

Die Biene kann immer wieder verwendet werden, um die Mitarbeiter auf unaufdringliche Art und Weise an das erlernte zu erinnern. Poster, Aufkleber und weitere Maßnahmen sorgen dafür, dass Sabee zum ständigen, positiven Begleiter wird.

Durch die Verbindung von Illustration und Fotografie entsteht eine starke Wirkung trotz der gezeigten alltäglichen Situationen.

Kurzum macht Sabee das ganze Thema verständlicher und eingängiger, emotionaler und positiver.

Sabee Sympathieträger

Sabee kam sehr gut an – beim Management und bei allen Mitarbeitern. In den ersten Workshops des SPE&i Prozesses gaben die Teilnehmer den Bienen in den verschiedenen Szenen sogar eigene Namen. Inzwischen ist Sabee ein richtiger Teil von Sappi und alle Mitarbeiter befinden sich auf ihrer Reise hin zur neuen Arbeitskultur und optimieren ihre Prozesse.

Mehr Informationen gibt es von:

Michael Meier

Geschäftsführender Gesellschafter
michael.meier (at) schindlerparent.de