Neuromarketing
fuels brand communication.

Why we buy what we buy.
scroll_down

Schindler Parent > Blog > Neuromarketing

Neuromarketing in brand communication

Neuromarketing here. Neuromarketing there. Sick to the back teeth too, eh? This buzzword of choice for marketers. Already feeling peeved? Or are you triggered by: “Hey, you! Yes, you: Gizza (n)euro, would ya?” Neuromarketing is an interdisciplinary line of research between marketing and neuroeconomics.

Its aim – put simply – is to clarify what makes us more likely to buy something or more likely not to buy something.

(No) one definition of neuromarketing – an approach.

Neuromarketing is a sub-discipline of market research or – as its proponents believe – its spearhead. Cogitating in the conventional sense plays a subordinate role in the purchase decision – at least there are many places where you can find experts in marketing who are of exactly this opinion.

It’s not the conscious decisions that tempt us to choose a Coca-Cola, but the unconscious ones. Otherwise, we’d have preferred to drink Pepsi – as blind tests confirm time and again. Or water. Or even better, a great wine. A touch of sparkling wouldn’t have gone amiss. A Riesling, perhaps.

It’s the emotions, stupid.

How did Bill Clinton put it back then? “It’s the economy, stupid”. This is more or less how you could respond to all the stalwarts of “common sense” who still believe in “rational purchasing decisions”.

“Say what? This Porsche has 450 bhp? I’ve always been on the lookout for a Porsche with 450 bhp because >rational reason 1<, >rational reason 2< and finally >rational reason 3<”. And now we have to learn that >rational reason 1 to 3< bears no relevance at all, because we simply go for a Porsche, no matter how much horsepower it’s hiding under the bonnet. It’s always been that way.

We’re astonished to discover that it’s not suitable for transporting our family of five on holiday and back again. We can only use it to a very limited extent for our upcoming move. It is indeed no family estate car. And the finance deal to go with it barely coincides with our pay slip.

However – and this is the unbeatable argument – it’s a 911, it’s red and our lover looks smoking hot as her hair gets blown by the wind as we roar off into the sunset together with the top down (#familyleftwavinginthe rearviewmirror).

And, just like that, we bought it. And neuromarketing predicted exactly that? And neuromarketing can predict this for any other product? For every new product that is launched on the market? Certainly not.

Neuromarketing is worth plenty – and it’s expensive.

Even though imaging methods – such as magnetic resonance imaging – can show that small cars and sports cars appeal to different areas of a man’s brain, the results don’t allow us to draw any conclusions as to whether it was the Testarossa that appealed to us more than the Porsche mentioned above.

However, this can be decisive for the financier and client, given that, in neuromarketing, study after study costs real, actual money – i.e. it isn’t affordable for every client or principal.

Eye tracking may be a little cheaper, but the results are not much more meaningful, just different. The communicator knows whether he or she should position the logo in the top right-hand corner instead of in the bottom left-hand corner and whether the potential customer will react to the “Buy Now” button or not.

What’s the point, then, of deploying measures in neuromarketing that are not capable of achieving this? The exciting thing about neuromarketing is the question as to whether reactions to advertising, to communication, to still and moving images can be measured at all.

How do we react to certain stimuli? And do we respond better to certain signals? And can we use that for brand communication? The answer to these questions is most certainly yes. Yes, we can definitely see that certain forms of advertising appeal more to the customer’s brain than others. Yes, it’s true that certain TV ads work better on consumers than others.

Neuromarketing explores all these questions and finds scientifically relevant and validated answers that also afford some practical insight – even if it’s only why the iconic effect of Coca-Cola is more present with older consumers than with younger consumers, who simply no longer associate the PET bottle with the same emotions as their older counterparts, who primarily hold the glass bottle in their hands (something that Pepsi nevertheless doesn’t profit from directly).

Why is that? And what do these findings have to offer us now? What do the customers get out of it? The consumers? Or the corporate advertisers and all those in the agencies?

Priming? Want an example?

Perhaps the best way to understand this is to see neuromarketing in a broader context. How do we think? How do we perceive our environment? It’d be a little (but only a little) presumptuous to outline it all in one blog article.

But this much can perhaps be implied at this stage: We perceive virtually nothing of what is happening in our environment – as Thomas Metzinger has cleverly explained in his illuminating work on the issue of body and soul – “The Ego Tunnel” – for what we consider reality, for our dream experiences and for our increasingly digitalised, virtual world, which is revolutionising our conventional notion of consciousness beyond the spatial paradigm that can be directly experienced by human senses alone.

But we perceive that which we perceive more often. We retain and catalogue these experiences under positive memory if we associate them with good events (e.g. Christmas with delicious biscuits from mum), and under negative memory if we associate them time and again with negative experiences (e.g. Christmas with the not-so-festive, hunchbacked relatives).

One and the other are recurring events that we either look forward to with great joy, or dread with a quiet sense of horror. All events act on the eyes, ears, nose, mouth and sense of touch, and trigger fireworks in the synapses of millions of neurons in the brain of the customer – no, in the brain of every human being.

In psychology, this is referred to as priming. Images, words, smells and the like are priming stimuli. In his work “The Long Evolution of Brains and Minds”, the neurophysiologist Gerhard Roth has very clearly shown how the data highways in our heads are formed on the basis of this synapse fireworks display.

What is crucial: Everything we experience and perceive either stimulates our limbic system, our pleasure centre, or the amygdala – our fear centre. Either something attracts us or something repels us. Sometimes, we want to go there, and sometimes we want to flee. On the one hand, we have to have it; on the other hand, we find ourselves repelled. Sometimes, the one or the other impulse is very strong (then we just go ahead and buy it, like the Porsche), sometimes it’s very weak (then we don’t give a damn about sports cars).

According to this, everything we encounter, experience and perceive leaves a neuronal trace, however weak, a somatic state.

The Portuguese neuroscientist Antonio Damasio calls this somatic state “emotion” and distinguishes this emotion from the conscious sensation we have of our emotions. Emotion and sensation are, so to speak, two sides of the same coin: on one side a physical state that our consciousness then perceives as sensation on the other.

One can be measured with an EEG and visualised in the MRI, the other can be described in one’s own words. Both representations – in measurable procedures and in words – can have anywhere between plenty and nothing in common, and yet both refer to the same phenomenon.

What does all this have to do with neuromarketing?

Or, put differently: What does neuromarketing make of it? Something like this: All our experiences trigger emotions, which we perceive as sensations, either positive or negative in nature, depending on whether these experiences appeal to our limbic system or agitate our amygdala.

The sum of similar experiences determines our emotions and defines our options for action. It’s relatively simple to bring about certain actions in the context of a purchase decision by means of an A B test, which shows in a definitive comparison which buttons and purchase incentives have a particular appeal to customers and consumers on websites, in online shops or other portals.

Consumer neuroscience has already covered some real ground here in terms of showing what is possible in neuromarketing. Martin Lindstrom presented a bestseller in 2009 with “Buyology”, which pursues these unconscious stimuli and their effect right down to their finest ramifications.

In “Nudge”, the behavioural economist Richard Thaler – who was awarded the Alfred Nobel Memorial Prize for Economics – and his co-author Cass Sunstein outline an economic model based on unconscious incentives that have an emotional effect on the respective target groups, yet serve perfectly rational economic goals. Neuromarketing only plays a marginal role here at best, but the results are interesting for both research disciplines.

The decisive factor in all these models seems to be that, in the human action cycle of stimulus and neuronal processing – controlled by the limbic system/amygdala – our decisions seem to have already been made before we become “aware” of them.

The conscious realisation that we are about to do “something” occurs a few milliseconds later – hence the rationalisation.

With that in mind: do good reasons for buying the Porsche or a bottle of Coca-Cola over, say, opting for the smaller car and drinking tap water, always only come into their own after the fact, so to speak? Does the gut always win? And never the brain? “It had to be this Gucci bag, what else am I going to use to carry my tissues around in when I get teary-eyed watching Titanic in the cinema at night?” That’s probably how it goes. We’re all probably familiar with the one or other shopping spree (“I’m gonna buy EUR 100 worth of chocolate now!”) that we later regret. It’s a bit like sex or afterwards (omne animal post coitum triste).

Rewarding and punishing factors in neuromarketing.

According to Peter Kenning, Chair of Business Administration at Heinrich Heine University in Düsseldorf and a leading expert in consumer neuroscience and neuromarketing – with whom we collaborated closely at Zeppelin University in Friedrichshafen at the time – brands trigger a physiological relief of measurable pressure on customers’ decision-making processes.

In this context, brands are (also) measurably associated with emotions and brand-building advertising acts like a reward. So, in other words: Customers and consumers who buy brands feel good, they believe they are doing something good for themselves. The price, on the other hand, has something of an ambivalent effect, to the extent that, on the one hand, it harbours a deterrent, punishing effect (brands are expensive), while, on the other hand, it has a rewarding effect (because “I’m worth it”).

These findings stem from as early as 2010 and can be found in the interim assessment and outlook on neuroeconomic research entitled “Fünf Jahre neuroökonomische Forschung – Eine Zwischenbilanz und ein Ausblick” in “Wie Marken wirken. Impulse aus der Neuroökononmie für die Markenführung”, published by Manfred Bruhn and Richard Köhler.

The fact that methods such as those outlined there remain relevant in marketing is proven by Dirk Held and Christian Scheier in their 2018 study on how advertising works, entitled “Wie Werbung wirkt”, which demonstrates that previous market research has come up against its own methodological limits. The examples with the Porsche and Coca-Cola are also attributable to their work. Many thanks.

Neuromarketing is an important tool.

And now? So now we’re throwing away our rationality? Is our reason, our intellect nothing but a superfluous aberration? So should it just be all about neuromarketing from now on?

Hardly. This much can be said: Neuromarketing is an extremely exciting field of research that only a handful of people can afford, but whose findings can be used by all companies, customers and consumers alike. We’re gaining insight into the fact that advertising actually works – and we’re increasingly able to use neuromarketing to better assess how advertising can reach consumers with ever greater efficiency and precision.

For ourselves, there are very specific insights into the fact that we only reach our clients’ customers if we tell them a good story. No “yarn spinning” here, but rather a story that actually appeals to the target group, that triggers emotions and stays in the mind.

Everyone associates something positive with what is useful. It’s the benefit that we communicate whenever possible. We supply the properties and the technical data as a rationalisation afterwards.

Are there any further findings? This perhaps: We never tire of repeating them: The buying decisions in B2B are the same as in B2C, even if there are still many who claim that factual sales arguments apply in B2B, whereas emotional advertising is something for B2C.

That’s why we always talk about B2P - Brand to People. This is because this much should have become clear: It’s the emotion that counts. And not just in neuromarketing, by the way.

 

Christoph Siwek

Creative Consulting / Group Head Text
christoph.siwek@schindlerparent.de


TAGS

Neuromarketing befeuert die Markenkommunikation.

Warum wir kaufen, was wir kaufen.

"

Neuromarketing in der Markenkommunikation

Neuromarketing hier. Neuromarketing da. Können Sie es auch schon nicht mehr hören? Dieses Buzzword der Marketers. Geht es Ihnen bereits auf die Nerven? Oder triggert es Sie noch: „Hey, du! Ja, du: Haste mal’n Neuro?” Neuromarketing ist eine interdisziplinäre Forschungsrichtung zwischen Marketing und Neuroökonomie.

Ihr Ziel ist – vereinfacht gesagt – zu klären, was uns dazu bringt, etwas eher zu kaufen oder eher nicht zu kaufen.

(K)eine Definition für Neuromarketing – eine Annäherung

Neuromarketing ist ein Teilgebiet der Marktforschung oder auch – wie Anhänger meinen – ihre Speerspitze. Denken im herkömmlichen Sinne spielt bei der Kaufentscheidung eine untergeordnete Rolle – zumindest finden sich sehr oft im Marketing Experten, die genau dieser Meinung sind.

Nicht die bewussten Entscheidungen sind es, die uns reizen, eine Coca-Cola zu wählen, sondern die unbewussten. Sonst hätten wir – wie Blindtests ja immer wieder bestätigen – doch lieber eine Pepsi getrunken.

Oder Wasser. Oder noch lieber einen guten Wein. Ein bisschen moussierend hätte er sein dürfen. Ein Riesling vielleicht.

Es sind die Emotionen, Dummkopf

Wie hat das damals Bill Clinton gesagt? „It’s the economy, stupid”. Ungefähr so könnte man es allen Vertretern eines „gesunden Menschenverstandes“ entgegnen, die noch an „rationale Kaufentscheidungen” glauben.

„Wie? Dieser Porsche hat 450 PS? Ich habe immer nach einem Porsche mit 450 PS gesucht, weil >rationaler Grund 1<, >rationaler Grund 2< und schließlich >rationaler Grund 3<”. Und nun müssen wir erfahren, dass >rationaler Grund 1 bis 3< gar nicht relevant ist, weil wir einfach auf einen Porsche abfahren, ganz egal, wie viel PS unter seiner Motorhaube wummern. Immer schon.

Mit Erstaunen stellen wir fest, dass er nicht dazu geeignet ist, unsere fünfköpfige Familie in den Urlaub und wieder zurückzutransportieren. Wir können ihn nur sehr schlecht bei unserem anstehenden Umzug einsetzen. Er ist tatsächlich kein Kombi. Und seine Finanzierungsrate deckt sich auch nur begrenzt mit unserem Gehaltszettel.

Aber – und das ist ein unschlagbares Argument – er ist ein 911er, er ist rot und er bringt die Haare unserer Geliebten so fantastisch zur Geltung, wenn wir gemeinsam bei offenem Verdeck in den Sonnenuntergang brausen (die winkende Familie im Rückspiegel).

Und schwupps haben wir ihn gekauft. Und das Neuromarketing hat genau das prognostiziert? Und das Neuromarketing kann dies auch für jedes andere Produkt prognostizieren? Für jedes neue Produkt, das auf dem Markt eingeführt wird? Sicher nicht.

Neuromarketing ist viel wert – und teuer

Auch wenn bildgebende Verfahren wie die Magnetresonanztomografie konstatieren können, dass Kleinwagen und Sportwagen andere Areale im Gehirn eines Mannes ansprechen, lässt das Ergebnis doch keine Schlüsse darauf zu, ob es nicht doch eher der Testarossa war, der uns noch mehr ansprach als der oben genannte Porsche.

Das kann aber für den Finanzier und Auftraggeber entscheidend sein, da im Neuromarketing Studie um Studie echtes, wahres Geld kostet – also nicht für jeden Kunden, nicht für jeden Auftraggeber erschwinglich ist.

Eye Tracking mag etwas günstiger sein, aber die Ergebnisse sind auch nicht viel aussagefähiger, nur anders geartet. Da weiß der Kommunizierende eben eher, ob er das Logo nun oben rechts positionieren soll statt unten links und ob der potenzielle Kunde auf den >Jetzt-kaufen<-Button reagiert oder nicht.

Wozu dient es dann, wenn im Neuromarketing Maßnahmen zum Einsatz kommen, die das nicht zu leisten vermögen? Das Spannende am Neuromarketing ist die Frage, ob Reaktionen auf Werbung, auf Kommunikation, auf Standbild und Bewegtbild überhaupt messbar sind.

Wie reagieren wir auf bestimmte Reize? Und reagieren wir auf bestimmte Signale besser? Und können wir das für die Markenkommunikation nutzen? Diese Fragen lassen sich durchaus mit Ja beantworten.

Ja, wir können durchaus feststellen, dass bestimmte Werbeformen das Gehirn des Kunden eher ansprechen als andere. Ja, es stimmt, dass bestimmte TV-Spots auf Konsumenten besser wirken als andere.

Neuromarketing geht all diesen Fragen nach und findet durchaus wissenschaftlich relevante und gesicherte Antworten, die auch praktische Erkenntnisse ermöglichen – und sei es nur, warum die ikonische Wirkung von Coca-Cola bei älteren Konsumenten präsenter ist als bei jüngeren Konsumenten, die einfach mit der PET-Flasche nicht mehr dieselben Emotionen verbinden wie die Älteren, die noch vorrangig die Glasflaschen in den Händen hielten (wovon Pepsi dennoch nicht unmittelbar profitiert).

Warum ist das so? Und was bringen uns nun diese Erkenntnisse? Was haben die Kunden davon? Die Konsumenten? Und die Werbetreibenden auf Unternehmensseite und die in den Agenturen?

Priming? Beispiel gefällig?

Am besten versteht man das vielleicht, wenn man Neuromarketing im größeren Zusammenhang sieht. Wie denken wir? Wie nehmen wir unsere Umwelt wahr? Es wäre ein wenig (aber nur ein wenig) vermessen, das in einem Blogartikel alles zu umreißen.

Aber so viel mag vielleicht angedeutet werden: Wir nehmen so gut wie nichts wahr von dem, was in unserem Umfeld geschieht – wie Thomas Metzinger in seinem erhellenden Werk über die Leib-Seele-Thematik „Der Ego-Tunnel” luzide dargelegt hat – für das, was wir für die Realität halten, für unsere Traumerlebnisse und für unsere zunehmend digitalisierte, virtuelle Welt, die unsere herkömmliche Vorstellung von Bewusstsein über den unmittelbar sinnlich erfahrbaren Raum hinaus revolutioniert.

Aber das, was wir wahrnehmen, nehmen wir umso besser wahr, je häufiger wir es wahrnehmen. Wir behalten diese Erlebnisse in positiver Erinnerung, wenn wir sie mit guten Ereignissen (z. B. Weihnachten mit leckeren Plätzchen von Mama) verknüpfen, und in schlechter, wenn wir sie immer wieder mit negativen Eindrücken assoziieren (z. B. Weihnachten mit der gar nicht mal so einträchtig feiernden buckligen Verwandtschaft).

Das eine wie das andere sind immer wiederkehrende Ereignisse, denen wir entweder mit großer Freude oder mit stillem Grauen entgegensehen. Alle Ereignisse wirken über Augen, Ohren, Nase, Mund und Berührung und lösen im Gehirn des Kunden, nein, im Gehirn jedes Menschen ein Feuerwerk an den Synapsen von Millionen Neuronen aus.

Priming nennt man das in der Psychologie. Bilder, Worte, Gerüche u. Ä. sind bahnende – primende – Reize. Der Neurophysiologe Gerhard Roth hat in „Aus Sicht des Gehirns“ sehr klar dargestellt, wie sich auf Basis dieses Synapsenfeuerwerks die Datenautobahnen in unseren Köpfen bilden.

Entscheidend dabei ist: Alles, was wir erfahren, erleben, wahrnehmen, reizt entweder unser limbisches System, unser Lustzentrum, oder die Amygdala, unser Angstzentrum.

Entweder es zieht uns etwas an oder es stößt uns etwas ab. Mal wollen wir hin, mal wollen wir weg. Einerseits müssen wir es haben, andererseits stößt es uns ab. Mal ist die eine oder andere Regung sehr stark (dann kaufen wir ihn eben, den Porsche), mal ist sie sehr schwach (dann sind uns Sportwagen völlig Wurst).

Demnach hinterlässt alles, was uns begegnet, was wir erfahren und wahrnehmen, eine und sei es auch eine noch so schwache neuronale Spur, einen somatischen Zustand.

Der portugiesische Neurowissenschaftler Antonio Damasio nennt diesen somatischen Zustand Emotion und unterscheidet diese Emotion von der bewussten Empfindung, die wir von unseren Emotionen haben. Emotion und Empfindung sind gewissermaßen zwei Seiten einer Medaille, die auf der einen Seite ein körperlicher Zustand ist, den unser Bewusstsein auf der anderen Seite als Empfindung wahrnimmt.

Der eine ist im EEG messbar, im MRT visualisierbar, der andere ist in eigenen Worten beschreibbar. Beide Darstellungen – in messbaren Verfahren und in Worten – können viel bis gar nichts gemein haben und rekurrieren doch beide auf dasselbe Phänomen.

Was hat das alles mit Neuromarketing zu tun?

Oder anders: Was macht das Neuromarketing daraus? In etwa dies: Alle unsere Erfahrungen lösen Emotionen aus, die wir als Empfindungen wahrnehmen, entweder eher positiv oder negativ, je nachdem, ob diese Erfahrungen unser limbisches System ansprechen oder unsere Amygdala reizen.

Die Summe gleichartiger Erfahrungen bestimmen unsere Emotionen, definieren unsere Handlungsoptionen. Relativ simpel lassen sich bestimmte Handlungen im Sinne einer Kaufentscheidung durch einen A B Test herbeiführen, der im konkreten Vergleich zeigt, auf welche Buttons und Kaufanreize Kunden und Konsumenten auf Websites, in Onlineshops oder sonstigen Portalen besonders ansprechen.

Die Consumer Neuroscience ist hier schon recht weit und zeigt, was alles im Neuromarketing geht. Martin Lindstrom hat mit „Buyologie” bereits 2009 einen Bestseller vorgelegt, der diesen unbewusst wirkenden Stimuli bis in ihre feinsten Verästelungen folgt.

Der mit dem Alfred-Nobel-Gedächtnispreis für Wirtschaftswissenschaften ausgezeichnete Verhaltensökonom Richard Thaler skizziert mit seinem Co-Autor Cass Sunstein in „Nudge” ein ökonomisches Modell, das auf unbewussten Anreizen basiert, die emotional auf die jeweiligen Zielgruppen wirken, dabei aber durchaus rationalen ökonomischen Zielen dienen. Neuromarketing spielt hier nur allenfalls am Rande eine Rolle, doch die Ergebnisse sind für beide Forschungsbereiche interessant.

Entscheidend bei all diesen Modellen scheint zu sein, dass im Handlungskreislauf des Menschen von Reiz und neuronaler Verarbeitung, gesteuert durch limbisches System/Amygdala, unsere Entscheidungen bereits gefallen zu sein scheinen, bevor wir uns dessen „bewusst” werden.

Die bewusste Realisierung, dass wir gerade im Begriff sind, „etwas” zu tun, erfolgt einige Millisekunden später – mithin auch die Rationalisierung.

Kommen also gute Gründe, den Porsche, die Coca-Cola oder nicht doch lieber den Kleinwagen zu kaufen und das Leitungswasser zu trinken, immer erst danach zur Geltung? Siegt immer der Bauch? Und nie das Hirn? „Es musste diese Gucci-Tasche sein, worin sonst soll ich meine Tempotaschentücher transportieren, wenn mir abends im Kino bei Titanic die Tränen kommen?”

Vermutlich ist es so. Wir alle kennen vermutlich den einen oder anderen Kaufrausch („Ich kauf mir jetzt für 100 Euro Schokolade!”), den wir danach bedauern. Es ist ein bisschen wie beim Sex bzw. danach (omne animal post coitum triste).

Belohnende und bestrafende Faktoren im Neuromarketing

Nach Peter Kenning, Lehrstuhlinhaber für Betriebswirtschaftslehre an der Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf und einem führenden Fachmann für Consumer Neuroscience und Neuromarketing – mit dem wir seinerzeit an der Zeppelin Universität Friedrichshafen eng zusammengearbeitet haben –, entlasten Marken physiologisch messbar die Entscheidungsprozesse der Kunden.

Marken sind dabei – ebenfalls messbar – mit Emotionen verbunden und markenbildende Werbung wirkt wie eine Belohnung. Sprich: Kunden und Konsumenten, die Marken kaufen, fühlen sich wohl, sie glauben, sich etwas Gutes zu tun. Der Preis hingegen hat eine ambivalente Wirkung, insofern er einerseits abschreckend, bestrafend wirkt (Marken sind teuer), andererseits belohnend wirkt (weil „ich es mir wert bin”).

Diese Erkenntnisse sind bereits aus dem Jahre 2010 und finden sich in „Fünf Jahre neuroökonomische Forschung – Eine Zwischenbilanz und ein Ausblick” in „Wie Marken wirken. Impulse aus der Neuroökononmie für die Markenführung”, herausgegeben von Manfred Bruhn und Richard Köhler.

Dass im Marketing Methoden wie die dort skizzierten nach wie vor aktuell sind, belegen Dirk Held und Christian Scheier mit ihrer Studie „Wie Werbung wirkt” von 2018, die akribisch aufzeigt, dass die bisherige Marktforschung an ihre methodologischen Grenzen gestoßen ist. Ihrem Werk sind auch die Beispiele mit dem Porsche und der Coca-Cola geschuldet. Herzlichen Dank dafür.

Neuromarketing ist ein wichtiges Instrument

Und jetzt? Schmeißen wir nun unsere Rationalität weg? Ist unsere Vernunft, unser Verstand eine überflüssige Fehlentwicklung? Setzen wir nur noch auf Neuromarketing, Neuromarketing und nochmals Neuromarketing?

Wohl kaum. Neuromarketing – soviel lässt sich sagen – ist ein überaus spannendes Forschungsgebiet, das sich nur die wenigsten leisten können, deren Erkenntnisse aber alle Unternehmen, Kunden und Konsumenten nutzen können.

Wir gewinnen Einsichten darüber, dass Werbung tatsächlich wirkt – und wir können über Neuromarketing zunehmend besser einschätzen, wie Werbung die Konsumenten noch effizienter und gezielter erreicht.

Für uns selbst bestehen ganz konkrete Erkenntnisse darin, dass wir die Kunden unserer Kunden nur dann erreichen, wenn wir ihnen eine gute Story erzählen. Nein, nicht die vom Pferd, sondern die Geschichte, die tatsächlich von Reiz für die Zielgruppe ist, die Emotionen auslöst und im Kopf bleibt.

Etwas Positives verbindet jeder mit dem, was nützlich ist. Der Nutzen ist es, den wir wann immer möglich kommunizieren. Die Eigenschaften, die technischen Daten, liefern wir im Nachgang als Rationalisierung.

Gibt es weitere Erkenntnisse? Diese vielleicht: Wir werden nicht müde, sie immer wieder zu wiederholen: Die Kaufentscheidungen im B2B sind dieselben wie im B2C, auch wenn es immer noch viele gibt, die beteuern, im B2B würden sachliche Verkaufsargumente gelten, emotionale Werbung hingegen sei etwas für B2C.

Deshalb sprechen wir immer von B2P – Brand to People. Denn soviel sollte deutlich geworden sein: Auf die Emotionen kommt es an. Übrigens nicht nur im Neuromarketing.

 

Christoph Siwek

Kreativberatung / Group Head Text
christoph.siwek (at) schindlerparent.de

Treten Sie mit uns in Kontakt.

Tags