Icons on ikono.

A marking campaign for Zanders cult-favourite pape.

"

How can a fading cult-favourite product be revived – especially if the product in question is art paper? Zander’s ikono paper, in fact? The paper manufacturer, which was founded in 1829 in Bergisch Gladbach and has since merged with the Finnish fresh-fibre cardboard manufacturer Metsä Board, commissioned us in 2001 to bring an iconic art paper back to life: ikono. We realized immediately that the best person for the job would be someone who understood art – an artist.    

 

Paper can only speak for itself. It can only prove its print qualities in print. And as art paper it must be accepted by those who would create upon it: by artists and their publishers. 

Thus we addressed some of the most creative minds in art, design and architecture: for example, celebrated architect Zaha Hadid, John Warwicker, member of the design group tomato or the virtual reality artist, Diane Gromalla, to name but a few. 

We asked them to commit their icons to paper. And they all did.

Title: Artistic value.

The campaign ran for two years. Right from the start, the reaction of the target group was extremely positive and put the name ‘ikono’ back on everyone’s lips – at the time. It was also honoured within the industry: It appeared in the Annals of Advertising, among other places. But in the end, even that couldn’t save ikono – its production was too expensive, it was no longer compatible with product policy, and ikono coated art paper was removed from the company’s portfolio in 2004. But the icons printed on ikono still look great.   

More information is available from:

Michael Meier

Managing Partner
michael.meier (at) schindlerparent.de

Ikonen auf ikono.

Eine Kampagne für das Kultpapier von Zanders.

"

Wie verleiht man einem leicht verblassten Kultprodukt frischen Glanz? Gerade wenn es um ein Kunstdruckpapier geht? Um eines wie Zanders ikono? Der 1829 in Bergisch Gladbach gegründete Papierhersteller, der heute Teil des finnischen Frischfaserkartonherstellers Metsä Board ist, beauftragte uns 2001 eine Ikone unter den Kunstdruckpapieren wieder aufleben zu lassen: ikono. Uns war gleich klar: Da musste jemand ran, der etwas von Kunst versteht – Künstler.    

Papier kann nur für sich selbst sprechen. Es kann seine Druckqualitäten nur im Druck zeigen. Und als Kunstdruckpapier muss es von denen angenommen werden, deren Werke darauf zur Geltung kommen sollen: von den Künstlern und deren Verlegern.  

Also haben wir einige der kreativsten Köpfe der Kunst-, Design und Architekturszene angesprochen: zum Beispiel Stararchitektin Zaha Hadid, John Warwicker, Mitglied der Designgruppe tomato oder die Virtual-Reality-Künstlerin Diane Gromalla, um hier nur einige zu nennen. 

Wir baten sie ihre Ikonen aufs Papier zu bringen. Und sie haben alle mitgemacht.

Prädikat: Künstlerisch wertvoll.

Die Kampagne lief über zwei Jahre. Sie fand von Anfang an große Resonanz bei der Zielgruppe und hat ikono wieder ins Gespräch gebracht – damals. Auch von der Branche wurde sie honoriert: Unter anderem erschien sie im Jahrbuch der Werbung. Doch letztlich hat auch sie ikono nicht retten können: zu teuer in der Herstellung, nicht mehr kompatibel zur Produktpolitik, wurde das gestrichene Kunstdruckpapier ikono 2004 aus dem Programm gestrichen. Aber sie sehen immer noch gut aus – die Ikonen auf ikono.   

Mehr Informationen gibt es von:

Michael Meier

Geschäftsführender Gesellschafter
michael.meier (at) schindlerparent.de